Skip to content

Institutional BioSafety Committee, Forms and Instructions

Institutional BioSafety Committee, Forms and Instructions

To ensure compliance with the National Institutes of Health Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules, the HHRI has established an Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC).

The purpose of this committee is to ensure that research at the HHRI is in compliance with NIH policies that provide for safe experimental conduct.

The IBC will be responsible for oversight of research or teaching activities involving infectious agents (bacteria, viruses, protozoans, fungi, etc.), recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules (DNA, etc.), and biological toxins (endotoxins, enterotoxins, venoms, etc.).

HHRI researchers using these potentially biohazardous reagents must register their work with the IBC by submitting an application for committee review and approval.  Please submit all applications and questions to  The IBC meets as needed to review submitted projects.




Andy Harris, PhD
Senior Investigator & IBC Chair
612-873-6850 (office)
612-250-0863 (cell)

HHRI IBC Members

  1. Andrew Harris, PhD (Chair; HHRI)
  2. Mark LeSage, PhD (HHRI)
  3. Angie Craig, DVM (HHRI)
  4. Jennifer Hart, MS (HHRI)
  5. Bonnie Crissman, BS (HHRI)
  6. Mary Anne Sullivan Loftstrom, PhD (Beckman Coulter Diagnostics)
  7. Anthony Lewno, PhD (University of St. Thomas)

The HHRI IBC is a member of the Biosafety Administrators Association.


IBC Flow Chart (PDF)


NOTE: This form needs to be downloaded.  Click on the PDF link.  When the “Please Wait . . . “ screen appears, download the form by clicking on the download arrow (⬇️) and save the form to your device.  Open with Adobe and complete the form.  Submit the form by e-mailing it to

input search string and hit enter